Gary Ayres Award (Best Finals Player)

The AFL Coaches Association Gary Ayres Award is presented in recognition of the player who has been adjudged as the best player throughout the AFL Finals series, as voted by the coaches on a weekly basis throughout the duration of the AFL Finals Series. 

Votes are issued after every game of the AFL Finals series by the competing coaches, with each coach providing their 5-4-3-2-1 for the match. 

From 2022 any AFL Grand Final votes issued will receive 1.5 times loading.


Gary Ayres was a member of 5 Hawthorn premiership teams – 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, and 1991 and is a two time Norm Smith Medallist, adjudged best on ground in 1986 and 1988.

Ayres coached 223 AFL games between 1995 and 2004: 116 with Geelong and 107 with Adelaide.


Grand Final

Votes by Match

Votes by Match

Sat, September 29
West Coast Eagles
Player (Club)
Luke Shuey (WCE)
Dom Sheed (WCE)
Taylor Adams (COLL)
Tom Barrass (WCE)
Tom Langdon (COLL)


Votes Player Club
23 Steele Sidebottom COLL
18 Taylor Adams COLL
17 Jack Redden WCE
10 Dylan Grimes RICH
10 Luke Shuey WCE
10 Jack Viney MELB
10 Elliot Yeo WCE
9 Toby Greene GWS
9 Tom McDonald MELB
9 Sam Weideman MELB
8 Phil Davis GWS
8 James Harmes MELB
8 Brayden Maynard COLL
8 Dom Sheed WCE
7 Mason Cox COLL
7 Dustin Martin RICH
7 Callan Ward GWS
6 Jamie Cripps WCE
6 Jack Gunston HAW
6 Shannon Hurn WCE
6 Neville Jetta MELB
6 Josh J Kennedy WCE
AFL Coaches Association Logo